KASB Selects Sample for 2020 Leadership for Tomorrow Class

The Kansas Association of School Boards is pleased to announce its Leadership for Tomorrow Class of 2020, including USD 456 - Marais des Cygnes Valley Superintendent Joe Sample.

Participants are nominated then chosen through an application process that focuses on individual leadership in Kansas public education and participation in activities that promote effective governance and raise student achievement.

“Every member of this year’s class is already a leader in their local district,” said Dr. John Heim, KASB Executive Director. “Through Leadership for Tomorrow they connect with board members and district leaders in other districts, learning from each other and gathering ideas they can take back home. They will visit classrooms all across our state to see how districts are improving instruction and advancing student achievement for every child.” 

Leadership for Tomorrow gives board members, superintendents and administrators time to explore change theories and strategies, participate in leadership skill training and expand understanding of education key issues for effective governance and raising student achievement. Through five two-day sessions, the class will visit local schools, hear classroom presentations and participate in class discussions of issues and challenges facing Kansas education. 

Sessions are as follows: March 19 to March 20 - Stockton/Ness City, April 30 to May 1 - Hillsboro/Wichita, July 9 to July 10 - Manhattan, Sept. 10 to Sept. 11 - West Elk/Fredonia, Dec. 3 to Dec. 5 - 2020 KASB Annual Conference, Overland Park

The KASB Leadership for Tomorrow Class of 2020 includes:

1. William Anderson , Canton-Galva USD 419 Superintendent 

2. Donalyn Biehler, Herington USD 487 Superintendent 

3. Ryan Bradbury, Wellsville USD 289 Superintendent 

4. Samantha Brown, Riley County USD 378 Board of Education 

5. Debbie Deere, Lansing USD 469 Board of Education 

6. Dusty Deringer, Baxter Springs USD 508 Board of Education 

7. Juanita Erickson, Neodesha USD 461 Superintendent 

8. Karla Hagemeister, Manhattan Ogden USD 383 Board of Education 

9. Jess Herbig, Goddard Public Schools USD 265 Executive Director of Instructional Supports 

10. Darin Holecek, Ellsworth USD 327 Board of Education 

11. Jim Howard, Hoxie Community Schools USD 412 Superintendent 

12. Jamie Kratzer, Ulysses USD 214 Board of Education 

13. Stephen Linkous, Kansas City Public Schools USD 500 Chief of Staff 

14. Larry Lyder, Lakin USD 215 Superintendent 

15. Karl McNorton, Seaman USD 345 Board of Education 

16. Josh Meyer, St. John-Hudson USD 350 Superintendent 

17. Rosemary Neaderhiser, Twin Valley Schools USD 240 Board of Education 

18. Stephanie Niblock, Stockton USD 271 Board of Education 

19. Judi Price, Leavenworth USD 453 Board of Education 

20. Tina Prunier, Derby USD 260 Board of Education 

21. Emily Riner, Perry Lecompton USD 343 Board of Education 

22. Casey Robinson, Pawnee Heights USD 496 Superintendent 

23. Ashley Rohleder, KASB Attorney 

24. Joe Sample, Marais des Cygnes Valley USD 456 Superintendent 

25. Mary Sinclair, Shawnee Mission USD 512 Board of Education 

26. Bryce Wachs, Fort Larned USD 495 Superintendent 

27. Dannielle Wells, Leavenworth USD 453 Board of Education 

28. Norm Wilks, El Dorado Public Schools USD 490 Board of Education

Credit KASB: https://kasb.org/nb0218-4/