Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: Organizations & Clubs > breadcrumbs: FFA >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

 Story image 1_0
59009b4449889 Nocona Brinkley, Brookelyn Janssen, Destiny Massey, Chloe Volkman, and Alaina Marsh.
Frank Warner, Koby Vanderpool, Haylee Miles, Bayleigh Lacey, Carson Jones, Tristen Duncan, and Grace Bradley.
Kayden Dickey, Leon Sluder, Dalton Hook, Brookelyn Janssen, Destiny Massey, Josey Weimer, Chloe Volkman, Kali Holt, and Kathryn Vaught.
Mark Lacey and Shane Weimer
Don Dickerhoof, Josey Weimer, Kelli Dickerhoof
Nocona Brinkley, Brookelyn Janssen, Destiny Massey, Chloe Volkman, and Alaina Marsh.

Annual MdCV FFA Chapter Banquet


            The annual Marais des Cygnes Valley FFA Chapter Banquet was held on Thursday April 13th, 2017. Approximately, 90 people including members, families, and friends gathered in the MdCV gymnasium for some good eating, door prizes, awards, and the installation of the 2017-2018 chapter officers.

            The invocation, from Dalton Hook followed by the dinner consisting of pulled pork, roast beef, cheesy potatoes, side dishes, and desserts provided by our members and their families. Then, we handed out door prizes from our local supporting businesses. Following the dinner the chapter officers; President Kayden Dickey, Vice-President Kathryn Vaught, Secretary Josey Weimer, Treasurer Dalton Hook, Reporter Leon Sluder, Sentinel Chloe Volkman and Advisor Danny Rice, began with the opening ceremonies. Kathryn Vaught, then introduced our guest speaker, Lori Harlan, a former State Vice-President and MdCV alumni with her speech on the countless opportunities that FFA provides. Other guests included members of the USD 456 School Board, Ted Hessong, the USD 456 Superintendent, Dr. Schulze MdCV JH/HS principal, members of the MdCV Ag Education Advisory Board, Joe and Shirley Lichtenauer, Dale and Peggy McCurdy, Jeff and Merrilyn Casten and family as well as FFA members and their family.

            After the guest speaker, Chloe Volkman and Josey Weimer presented the Chapter Video showcasing the year’s activities. Then the chapter awarded the Greenhand Degrees which were awarded to; Grace Bradley, Kaelin Criqui, Tristen Duncan, Ryan Gosser, Carson Jones, Bayleigh Lacey, Haylee Miles, Koby Vanderpool, and Rebecca Bialek. The Star Greenhand recipient  was awarded to Bayleigh Lacey. Following the Greenhand Degrees, the Chapter Degrees was awarded to Nocona Brinkley, Brookelyn Janssen, Destiny Massey, Kathryn Vaught, Chloe Volkman, and Alaina Marsh. Awards were given to members with outstanding Supervised Agricultural Experience Programs. The Proficiency Awards were given to Leon Sluder for Sheep Production and also Small Animal Production and Kali Holt for Veterinary Science.

            Each year, the Marias des Cygnes Valley FFA give out scholarships to seniors attending technical, 2 year college or 4-year University and this year's recipients were Kayden Dickey and Leon Sluder that received the Lichtenauer Family Scholarship and the Marais de Cygnes Valley FFA Chapter Scholarship. The chapter recognizes outstanding individuals or businesses that go beyond to support the FFA Chapter. This year's Blue and Gold Award went to Shane Weimer and Mark Lacey for their assistance in the planning and pouring of the greenhouse floor. Other contributors to the greenhouse were also recognized: Jones Fund Grant, Monsanto Grant, Dupont Grant, USD Board of Education, Sam Flatin, Kelli and Don Dickerhoof, Stinebaugh Memorial and Jill Casten. .

            Danny Rice then announced members that would be attending the Washington Leadership Conference “WLC” In Washington D.C. this summer.Scholarships are awarded through the Kansas FFA Foundation  from Jeremy and Emily Lehning $1300, Casten Family Memorial $500. The recipient of the Lehning KS FFA Foundation Scholarship is Brookelyn Janssen and the recipient of the Casten Family Memorial Scholarship was Kathryn Vaught.  Wrapping up the awards ceremony, the Sweepstakes Awards were given to Josey Weimer in first, second Kali Holt, and third Chloe Volkman, Kathryn Vaught fourth, and Brookelyn Janssen fifth. For the Greenhands Bayleigh Lacey was first, followed by Haylee Miles, and Tristen Duncan.

            As the chapter banquet came to a close, it was time to install the 2017-2018 MdCV  chapter officers. the new officers are: President, Josey Weimer, Vice-President, Dalton Hook, Secretary, Chloe Volkman, Treasurer, Kali Holt, Reporter, Kathryn Vaught, Sentinel, Alaina Marsh, Historian, Brookelyn Janssen, and Student Council Representative, Destiny Massey. We would like to thank the businesses and people who donated door prizes and food. Special thanks go to everyone who came to support our MdCV FFA Chapter.

Back To Top